2017 · Running events

Summery Sevenoaks 10K

I took part in the Sevenoaks Knole Park 10K in both 2014 and 2015, and it was the first event I completed after tearing a calf muscle over Christmas 2013. I’ve previously stated that I wouldn’t take part in this event again purely because I’ve run it twice, but as I hadn’t taken part in an event since the Tunbridge Wells half marathon back in February, I was itching for a race and spontaneously signed up with a week to go.

So on Sunday 2 April I parked (with ease, and directed by marshals) at the Sevenoaks Leisure Centre and picked up my running number with timing chip from the information desk (no queuing!). The cafe and toilets were also open inside, with minimal queuing. The Start line was a five minute walk around the back of the Leisure centre and into the grounds of picturesque Knole Park – all well sign-posted.

Sevenoaks Knole Park 10KThe route, as per previous years, was two scenic laps around the multi-terrain park with a steep hill around 3/7K, which was a challenge! The event was well organised with marshals and signage, and the weather was gorgeous! Warm and sunny to the point where I thought I should have worn a vest instead of a dri-fit t-shirt.  I was also wearing brand new cropped leggings from Primark (with a mesh and floral hem, so pretty! Comfy, too), Brooks sports bra and Brooks Glycerin 14 trainers, with black 1000 Mile trainer socks.

I’d consumed a cup of coffee, orange juice, hydration sachet, energy sachet, banana, cereal bar and a cup of tea! I sipped water from a bottle on the way round and there was a water station situated on the course which seemed to be well managed.

Overall I enjoyed the event and felt good throughout, with nothing negative to note about any element of the morning. There were no obvious bottle-necks or frustrations, and I even spotted some deer at the end! Free water and bananas were handed out at the finish line and the bespoke medal is lovely with a deer on it – much nicer than the previous years’ medals! I paid around £18 to take part which I’d say is definitely worth it, and would happily pay that price again.

 

 

 

Leave a comment